Disney Plus to Launch in 42 Countries Across Africa, Europe and Asia

The Walt Disney Company’s streamer Disney Plus has confirmed a launch across Europe, Africa and West Asia in 42 countries and 11 new territories, starting June this year.

The full list of countries that the streamer will launch in include:

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine Territories, Poland, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City and Yemen.

In addition, new territories Disney Plus will be available in include:

Denmark’s Faroe Islands, France’s French Polynesia, French Southern Territories and St. Pierre and Miquelon Overseas Collective, Finland’s Åland Islands, the Netherlands’ Sint Maarten, Norway’s Svalbard & Jan Mayen and the U.K.’s British Indian Ocean Territory, Gibraltar, Pitcairn Islands and St Helena.

No exact launch dates, subscription prices or plans for each country have been revealed.

Disney Plus is the dedicated streaming home for films and shows from Disney, Pixar, Marvel, Star Wars, and National Geographic. In select international markets, it also includes the new general entertainment content brand, Star, through which it offers content from 20th Century Studios, Disney Television Studios, FX and Searchlight Pictures.

The major expansion could also help Disney jump-start its subscriber growth, which has slowed. Launched in November 2019 in the U.S., Canada and the Netherlands, the streamer has so far 118 million total global subscribers in the fourth quarter of 2021. That figure was up only 2.1 million from the previous quarter. Disney Plus’ subscriber count also lags behind Netflix’s nearly 222 million paid subscribers.

Within Europe, besides the Netherlands, the service is currently available in Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the U.K.

Outside Europe, Disney Plus has launched in Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong and across Latin America. In India, the service is known as Disney Plus Hotstar and is the market leader. The Disney Plus Hotstar brand is also used in Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand, where it operates with a significantly different business model from more developed markets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *