WhatsApp has introduced a one-time view feature for its users. This feature allows the recipient to view the photo/video you have sent once after which the photo/video disappears or is deleted. To use this feature is actually so easy.
You open your WhatsApp, open the conversion where you want to share your one-time photo/video, choose the photo/video you want to share. Check the right end of the “Add a caption…” bar you will see an icon of digit 1 inside an incomplete circle. Toggle on the icon and then send your photo/video. The photo/video will be sent as a text. Once the photo/video is opened it will change from “photo” to “Opened” and terminate immediately.
However, if the photo/video is not opened within 14 days of it being sent, the media will disappear from the chat. You can however restore the ‘View once” from backup if the message remains unread at the time of backup. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.
This feature was introduced on Instagram earlier on before coming to WhatsApp despite the fact that both platforms are owned by Facebook. Fun fact, the photo can be screenshot and saved to your phone gallery.